Tuesday, March 22, 2016

PREORDER: TENEMENT "Bruised Music Vol. 2: Singles 2010-2015" LP Now Available!

TENEMENT "Bruised Music, Volume Two" LP out April 8th - PREORDERS UP NOW!
"Freak Cast in Iron" streaming at The Fader
"Bruised Music, Volume Two is not only a collection of singles, but really a collection of transitional tunes that would form the basis of their present sound and distance them from their early juvenile aesthetic and more simplistic approach to the punk idiom."
Tenement Bruised Music, Volume Two LP

Release Date - April 8th, 2016
Stream "Freak Cast in Iron" at The Fader
Preorder Bruised Music, Volume Two in the Grave Mistake Webstore

When Grave Mistake and Toxic Pop released Tenement's Bruised Music, Volume One in March of 2015, one question that was asked was whether or not "Volume One" was merely a clever title for a standalone singles collection, or if there in fact was going to be an additional volume of Tenement singles to follow. Well, without further ado, both Grave Mistake and Toxic Pop are pleased to bring you the second installment of Tenement's Bruised Music Singles Collection.
On Bruised Music, Volume Two, we have compiled and remastered the majority of Tenement's post-Napalm Dream/Blind Wink and pre-Predatory Headlights output for yet another cohesive LPs worth of material. Fourteen Tracks in all, Bruised Music, Volume Two compiles tracks from their Taking Everything EP (Toxic Pop), split 7" w/ Culo (Cowabunga), split 7" with Cheeky (Let's Pretend/No Breaks), Freak Cast in Iron 7" (Cowabunga), Puke and Destroy 2 7" compilation (Snuffy Smile), and split 7" w/ Screaming Females (Recess).

All material has once again been mastered specifically for this release by Daniel Husayn at North London Bomb Factory, and you can listen to the remastered version of 2013's "Freak Cast in Iron," streaming now over at The Fader.

We've pressed up 200 copies of this release on Coke Bottle Clear vinyl which are now available for PREORDER in the Grave Mistake Webstore. We also are stocked up on the Bruised Music Vol. 1 LP, Predatory Headlights 2xLP, The Blind Wink LP, and Napalm Dream LP, so if you are missing any of those now is a good time to grab em!

The official release date for Bruised Music, Volume Two is set for April 8th (with vinyl scheduled to ship a few weeks later in mid-to-late April). This is a split release with Toxic Pop Records.

Bruised Music, Volume Two tracklist:

1. Taking Everything
2. Freak Cast In Iron
3. The Block Is Safe Again
4. Paper Airplanes
5. Wouldn't Let You Go
6. Perverse Universe
7. Jet Slug
8. Your Life or Mine
9. Blast Exhaust
10. Books on Hell and Sermons on TV
11. The Way It All Seems
12. Violent Outlet
13. Daylight World
14. Your Sway Keeps The Rot Away

Upcoming Tenement Shows:
04/22 Viroqua, WI @ Driftless Books
08/04-07 Appleton, WI @ Mile Of Music Festival
08/12-13 Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires Festival
08/27-28 Portland, OR @ Project Pabst Festival
In the summer of 2009, Appleton, Wisconsin punk group Tenement prepared to embark on yet another trip across the United States in their 1986 Dodge short bus. Like their recording sessions of the time period, their method of travel was often grueling and economical. They played with brutal honesty and they lived with brutal honesty. After a violent incident that resulted in a lot of blood, a lot of broken glass, and the dismissal of half of the rhythm section from the group, this behavioral pattern would ultimately lead to the demise of the first major lineup of the band, and usher in a new era of introspection and experimentation.

In 2011, their first two full length records, Napalm Dream and The Blind Wink, were released only a few months apart and lead to Tenement's widespread recognition as one of America's most notable melodic punk bands. Four years later, they released what many critics, from The New York Times to Rolling Stone, viewed as their major statement and first big achievement- Predatory Headlights.  Their new singles collection, brought to you by Grave Mistake Records and Toxic Pop Records, represents the time between the release of their early LPs and their 2015 sprawling double album.

Bruised Music, Volume Two is not only a collection of singles, but really a collection of transitional tunes that would form the basis of their present sound and distance them from their early juvenile aesthetic and more simplistic approach to the punk idiom. Eric Mayer joined the group on drums at the onset of this period, and two original members Amos Pitsch and Jesse Ponkamo, on guitar and bass respectfully, continued as the melodic force. Much of the material heard within was recorded at home on 8 track machine and cassette recorders; though a small portion of it was engineered and mixed by Napalm Dream and Predatory Headlights' production mastermind, Justin Perkins. These selections have a distinct sheen and lend a signature quality to the record as a whole.

You'll hear the first inkling of Tenement's interest in the fusion of classical stringed instruments and pop music in "Wouldn't Let You Go", an instrumental piece called "Jet Slug" that sits somewhere between Pavement and Ferrante & Teicher, the chunky blown out punk/pop of "Blast Exhaust" and "Taking Everything" which seem too aggressive to label simply as "pop punk" yet too melodic to label as "hardcore", the acoustic ballad "Your Sway..." with Nick Drake-esque chord patterns. You'll hear the twinkling pianos of "Perverse Universe" and the jangling, sparkling guitars and lush vocal harmonies of "Paper Airplanes", and it will sound so achingly familiar yet so hard to generalize or pin down. This is the very sorcery of Tenement, and on Bruised Music, Volume Two, the spell is stronger than ever.

No comments:

Post a Comment